Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Thursday 8 February 2024

PRESENT:

Councillor Evans OBE, in the Chair.

Councillors Aspinall, Harrison (substitute for Councillor Patel), Lugger, Murphy and Penberthy.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Dann and Patel.

Also in attendance: Maddie Halifax (CEX/Electoral Services Practice Manager) and Hannah Whiting (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 1.05 pm and finished at 1.25 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

14. **Appointment of Chair**

Having been proposed by Councillor Aspinall and seconded by Councillor Lugger, the Committee <u>agreed</u> to appoint Councillor Tudor Evans OBE as Chair of the Lord Mayor's Selection Committee 2023/24.

15. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of interest were made.

16. **Minutes**

The Committee <u>agreed</u> the minutes of the meeting held on 17 May 2023 as a correct record.

17. **Lord Mayoralty 2024/25**

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2024/25. Having been nominated by Councillor Aspinall, and seconded by Councillor Penberthy, it was agreed unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Tina Tuohy to accept the Office of the Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Tina Tuohy who, on arrival, expressed her delight with the nomination, which she was very honoured and grateful to accept.

The Committee <u>agreed</u> unanimously to recommend to City Council that it approved the appointment of Councillor Tina Tuohy as Lord Mayor for the 2024/25 municipal year.

